Requiem for a freelance career? Unlikely

I’m just starting to settle in this week to my new job as the director of career services at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism. My name is on the school’s webpage but I wasn’t expecting to see my byline in pixels anytime soon.

And then this popped up on the National Geographic website: ‘Shark Lady’ Eugenie Clark, Famed Marine Biologist, Has Died and I remembered why I was so busy as a freelancer — even when the number of bylines didn’t seem to match my work load. I was writing obituaries.

I won’t say how many obits I wrote for National Geographic but they include some very famous and amazing people about whom I learned so much during my research and interviews.

Clark, a native New Yorker who fell in love with sharks at the aquarium at Battery Park, was the first to pass away and thus her obituary is the first to be published.

Leave a Reply

